Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät

Quicklinks

Search

Prof. Dr. Daniel Veit


veit

Chair

E-mail: office-veit_AT_wiwi.uni-augsburg.de
Tel.: +49 821 598 - 4431
Fax: +49 821 598 - 4432
Room: J 1410
Office hours: Wed. 10:00 to 11:00 a.m.
please register at the office
Address: Universitätsstraße 16
86159 Augsburg


Education

Degree Field of Study Institution Graduation Year
venia legendi Business University of Karlsruhe, Germany 2006
Dr. rer. pol. Economics and Business Engineering University of Karlsruhe, Germany 2002
Diplom Mathematics Justus Liebig University of Gießen, Germany 1999

Biography

Dr. Daniel Veit is a professor and chair of Information Systems and Management at the Department of Business Administration of the Faculty of Business and Economics of the University of Augsburg, Germany. Prof. Veit is Chairman of the Board of the Zentrum für Weiterbildung und Wissenstransfer (ZWW), Co-Director of the Augsburg Center for Entrepreneurship (ACE), member of the Jakob-Fugger-Zentrum, the GBM-board, the WIN-board and the standing committee for doctoral assessments of the Faculty of Business and Economics. Furthermore, he is appointed as a visiting professor at the Department of Digitalization of the Copenhagen Business School, Denmark.

In his research, Dr. Veit is interested in questions regarding the adoption and diffusion of digital infrastructures and new phenomena in enterprises and society. His main focus rests on theory building research. From a methodological point of view he employs qualitative and quantitative empirical methods to gain insights into the effects of digitization in business and society. Based on these he also derives implications for practice as well as recommendations for companies, governments, societal groups and individuals. In the year 2014 he founded the Institute for Digitzation Research e.V. in Munich as a platform for these activities. He carries out concrete consulting assignments via Professor Dr. Veit Consulting (PDVC), located in Augsburg.

Veit studied Mathematics at the TU Munich and Justus-Liebig-University of Giessen (MSc 1999) and spent parts of his undergraduate studies at the TU Vienna and University of Maryland, College Park, US. In 2002, he earned his Doctoral degree at the Faculty of Economics and Business Engineering of the University of Karlsruhe (TH) for his dissertation entitled "Electronic Negotiations and Multidimensional Matchmaking". In 2003 he was admitted to the young researchers promotion program of the Volkswagen Foundation. In 2005 Dr. Veit worked as a visiting scholar at the department of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research of the University of California, Berkeley. From 2003 to 2006 he was an assistant professor at University of Karlsruhe (TH) where he defended his second doctorate (habilitation) entitled "Markets for non-storable Goods" in 2006. From 2006 to 2013 he held a professor position at the Business School of the University of Mannheim where he was the Dieter Schwarz Endowed Chair for Business Administration and Information Systems. From 2007 to 2008 he held the position of the Associate Dean for International Relations of the business school. In the role of the Academic Director and member of the board of Mannheim Business School Ltd. he formed the ESSEC&Mannheim Weekend Executive MBA Program in the years 2007 to 2013 and developed it to one of Germany's leading Executive MBA programs. In 2009 he held a visiting professorship at the Center for Applied Information and Communication Technology at the Copenhagen Business School, Denmark. In 2013 and 2014 he received the Velux Visiting Professor grant of the Villum Foundation, Denmark. Prof. Veit is member of the international advisory board of the Business Environmental Sustainability Research Group (BSERG) of the University of Sydney, Australia.

In the past years, Dr. Veit published a large number of articles in leading scientific journals and contributions in proceedings of leading international conferences. Amongst others, the work of Dr. Veit has been accepted for publication in the Journal of Management Information Systems, the European Journal of Information Systems, the Journal of Service Research as well as proceedings of the International Conference on Information Systems (ICIS) and the European Conference on Information Systems (ECIS). He has frequently been serving as track chair and associate editor for the ICIS, ECIS conference series. He served as one of the program chairs for ECIS 2016 in Istanbul, Turkey. As a guest editor he served for several international journals. Since 2016 he serves on the Editorial Board of the Information Systems Journal as an Associate Editor. Since 2017 he serves on the Editorial Board of the Journal of the Association for Information Systems as member of the Editorial Review Board. He frequently serves as ad-hoc reviewer for the leading journals of the information systems research field.

In a number of invited talks, Dr. Veit spoke about innovative energy markets, markets for computing resources and services, innovative digital business models as well as phenomena emerging during the increasing digitalization of enterprises and society. Amongst others he held invited talks at the Stanford University, University of California, Berkeley, the Washington State University, the Queens School of Business, Canada, the Vienna University of Economics and Business, the Aalto University School of Business, Finland, the Copenhagen Business School, Denmark, the Warwick Business School, UK and the e-IRG E-Infrastructures reflection group of the German EU-Presidency. Next to guest lectures at several German universities and teaching assignments in several international MBA and Executive MBA programs, Dr. Veit has been teaching at the Center for Doctoral Studies in Business (CDSB) of the Graduate School of Economic & Social Sciences (GESS) of the University of Mannheim, which is funded within the Initiative of Excellence of the German federal government. Dr. Veit is consulting several corporations and has been conducting consulting contracts for a number of state and federal ministries.

He is member of the following professional associations: German Academic Association for Business Research (VHB), Association for Information Systems (AIS)Münchner Kreis e.V. (elected member of the research council since fall 2014) and Markeing-Club-Augsburg e.V. (elected board member for research).

 

Selected Publications

Karwatzki, S., Dytynko, O., Trenz, M., and Veit, D. 2017. "Beyond the Personalization–Privacy Paradox: Privacy Valuation, Transparency Features, and Service Personalization," Journal of Management Information Systems (34:2), pp. 369–400.

Karwatzki, S., Trenz, M., Tuunainen, V., and Veit, D. 2017. "Adverse consequences of access to individuals' information: An analysis of perceptions and the scope of organisational influence," European Journal of Information Systems, online first, pp. 1-28.

Trenz, M., Huntgeburth, J., and Veit, D. 2017. "How to Succeed with Cloud Services? A Dedication-Constraint Model of Cloud Success," Business & Information Systems Engineering, online first, pp. 1-14.

Veit, D., Clemons, E., Benlian, A., Buxmann, P., Hess, T., Kundisch, D., Leimeister, J. M., Loos, P., and Spann, M. 2014. "Business Models: An Information Systems Research Agenda," Business & Information Systems Engineering (6:1), pp. 45–53.

Hauff, S., Huntgeburth, J., and Veit, D. 2014. "Exploring Uncertainties in a Marketplace for Cloud Computing: A Revelatory Case Study," Journal of Business Economics (84:3), pp. 441–468.

Wunderlich, P., Kranz, J., Totzek, D., Veit, D., and Picot, A. 2013. "The Impact of Endogenous Motivations on Adoption of IT-Enabled Services: The Case of Transformative Services in the Energy Sector," Journal of Service Research (16:3), pp. 356–371.

Complete List of Publications (as of 12th of September 2017)

Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät

Quicklinks

Suche

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Daniel Veit


veit

Lehrstuhlinhaber

E-Mail: office-veit_AT_wiwi.uni-augsburg.de
Telefon: +49 821 598 - 4431
Fax: +49 821 598 - 4432
Raum: J 1410
Sprechzeiten: Bis 20. April 2020 im Forschungssemester. Im Sommersemester 2020: Do. von 10:00 Uhr bis 11:00 Uhr
nach Anmeldung über das Sekretariat
Hausanschrift: Universitätsstraße 16
86159 Augsburg


Ausbildung

Abschluss Fach Institution Jahrgang
venia legendi Betriebswirtschaftslehre Universität Karlsruhe (TH) 2006
Dr. rer. pol. Wirtschaftswissenschaften Universität Karlsruhe (TH) 2002
Diplom Mathematik Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen 1999

Biographie

Professor Dr. Daniel Veit, geboren 1975 in München, ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Betriebswirtschaftslehre mit Schwerpunkt Information Systems und Management am Institut für Betriebswirtschaftslehre der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Augsburg. Er hat zudem eine forschungsorientierte Gastprofessur an der Copenhagen Business School, Dänemark, inne.

Im Rahmen seiner Forschung befasst sich Dr. Veit mit Fragestellungen im Bereich der Adoption von digitalen Infrastrukturen und neuen Phänomenen in Unternehmen und Gesellschaft. Im Vordergrund seines Interesses stehen theoriebildende Arbeiten. Methodisch bringt er qualitative und quantitative empirische Verfahren zum Einsatz, um Erkenntnisse über die Auswirkungen elektronischer Medien zu erfassen. Daraus leitet er auch Implikationen für die Praxis sowie konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen für Unternehmen, Regierungen, gesellschaftliche Gruppierungen und Individuen ab. Als Plattform für diese Aktivitäten gründete er im Jahr 2014 das Institute for Digitization Research e.V. mit Sitz in München.

Veit studierte Mathematik an der TU München und Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen (Diplom 1999) und verbrachte Teile seines Studiums an der TU Wien und der University of Maryland, College Park, US. Im Anschluss promovierte er im Jahr 2002 an der Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften der Universität Karlsruhe (TH). Im Jahr 2003 wurde er in das Nachwuchsförderprogramm der VolkswagenStiftung aufgenommen. Im Folgenden war er im Jahr 2005 als Gastwissenschaftler am Department of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research der University of California in Berekely tätig. Im Juli 2006 habilitierte er sich an der Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften der Universität Karlsruhe (TH) und erhielt die venia legendi im Fach Betriebswirtschaftslehre. In den Jahren 2006 bis 2013 hatte Prof. Veit den Dieter-Schwarz-Stiftungslehrstuhl (W 3) für Allgemeine Betriebswirtschaftslehre und Information Systems an der Fakultät für Betriebswirtschaftslehre der Universität Mannheim inne. Im Zeitraum 2007 bis 2008 vertrat er als Prodekan für Internationale Angelegenheiten die dortige Fakultät. Als Akademischer Direktor und Mitglied des Präsidiums der Mannheim Business School gGmbH verantwortete er von 2007 bis 2013 das ESSEC&Mannheim Weekend Executive MBA Programm und entwickelte es in dieser Zeit zu einem der führenden Executive MBA Programme Deutschlands. Im Jahr 2009 arbeitete er als Gastprofessor am Department of Information Technology Management der Copenhagen Business School in Dänemark. 2013 und 2014 erhielt er den Velux Visiting Professor Grant der Villum Stiftung, Dänemark. Prof. Veit ist Mitglied im International Advisory Board der Business Environmental Sustainability Research Group (BSERG) der University of Sydney, Australien. Im Jahr 2019 erhielt er einen Ruf als Tenured Full Professor an die University of Queensland Business School, Brisbane, Australien, den er ablehnte.

In den vergangenen Jahren veröffentlichte er eine große Zahl an Tagungsbeiträgen und Artikeln in wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften darunter im Management Information Systems Quarterly, im Journal of Management Information Systems, im European Journal of Information Systems, im Journal of Service Research sowie in Tagungsbänden der International Conference on Information Systems (ICIS) und der European Conference on Information Systems (ECIS). Er war in den vergangenen Jahren als Track Chair und Associate Editor für die ICIS und ECIS Konferenzserien tätig und verantwortete als einer der Program Chairs das Programm der ECIS 2016 in Istanbul, Türkei. Prof. Veit hat eine Reihe von Gastherausgeberschaften für internationale Journals durchgeführt. Seit 2016 dient er im Editorial Board des Information Systems Journal als Associate Editor. Seit 2017 dient er im Editorial Board des Journal of the Association for Information Systems als Mitglied des Editorial Review Board sowie seit 2019 zudem als Editorial Review Board Associate Editor. Er ist häufig als Ad-Hoc-Gutachter für die führenden Zeitschriften des Forschungsgebiets Information Systems tätig.

Die Forschungsarbeiten von Prof. Veit wurden unter anderem substantiell durch folgende Drittmittelgeber gefördert: Rahmenprogramm der Europäischen Union, VolkswagenStiftung, Dieter Schwarz Stiftung, Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung und Bundesministerium des Innern. Prof. Veit war in der Vergangenheit regelmäßig als Gutachter unter anderem für die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, die Swiss National Science Foundation, das Rahmenprogramm der Europäischen Union, das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung sowie weitere öffentliche und private Drittmittelgeber tätig.

Im Rahmen einer Reihe eingeladener Vorträge sprach er über Themen im Bereich von Energiemärkten, innovativen Märkten und Geschäftsmodellen für Dienste und Rechenressourcen sowie über neue Phänomene, die bei der zunehmend durchdringenden Digitalisierung von Unternehmen und Gesellschaft aufscheinen. Er referierte unter anderem an der Stanford University, der University of California, Berkeley, der Washington State University, der Queens School of Business, Kanada, der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien, der Aalto University School of Business, Finnland, der Copenhagen Business School, Dänemark, der Warwick Business School, UK, der University of Queensland Business School, Australien, der e-IRG E-Infrastructures Reflection Group der deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft und auf dem Deutschen Betriebswirtschafter-Tag der Schmalenbach-Gesellschaft. Neben Gastvorlesungen an einigen deutschen Universitäten, Lehraufträgen in verschiedenen MBA und Executive MBA Programmen u.a. an der Mannheim Business School hat er am Center for Doctoral Studies in Business (CDSB) der in der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes geförderten Graduate School of Economic & Social Sciences (GESS) der Universität Mannheim unterrichtet. Dr. Veit berät mehrere Unternehmen und hat Beratungsaufträge für mehrere Landes- und Bundesministerien durchgeführt.

Er ist Mitglied in folgenden professionellen Vereinigungen: Verband der Hochschullehrer für Betriebswirtschaft e.V. (VHB), Association for Information Systems (AIS), Münchner Kreis e.V. (seit Herbst 2014 gewähltes Mitglied des Forschungsausschusses) und in der Gesellschaft für Informatik e.V. (GI).

Ausgewählte Veröffentlichungen

Vollständige Publikationsliste


Administrative Tätigkeiten an der Universität Augsburg